:::

Jin-shuei-ying Major Wildlife Habitat

:::
Name Jin-shuei-ying Major Wildlife Habitat
Primary Protected 
Features
Forest ecosystem
Area (Hectares) 1,119.28
Location Compartment 16 of Chao-jhou Working Circle for National Forest
Central Management 
Agency
Council of Agriculture Executive Yuan
Local Management 
​Agency
Pingtung Forest District Office, Forestry Bureau
Date Established October 19, 2000

Origin

Mt. Dahan is the southern extension of the Central Range. It not only provides the wild animals in Jin-shuei-ying with a comfortable habitat but also a conservation area for amentotaxus formosana li. At medium elevations, Jin-shuei-ying is highly representative of Taiwanese virgin broad-leaf forests. Mt. Dahan contains abundant wildlife resources representative features like birds, amphibians, and reptiles. Tourists even can witness at many species of animals along forest roads.

During Japanese Occupation, taxonomists have discovered many new plant species or records thereof all of which have been named after Jin-shuei-ying and word of the existence of these species have become known by other biologists by this classification scheme. In recent years, Dr. Yang Sheng-Ren has concluded that there are totally 31 families and 59 species of the endemic species and rare Taiwanese species in this area. This place is worth discussing because of its high endemic and species diversity. Accordingly, Council of Agriculture, Executive Yuan announced that Compartment 16 of Chao-jhou Working Circle for National Forest has been established and named after “Jin-shuei-ying Major Wildlife Habitat” on October 19th, 2000.

Location

Jin-shuei-ying Broadleaf Forest Habitat is located in Compartment No. 16 of Chao-jhou Working Circle for National Forest under Pingtung Forest District Office, Forestry Bureau. Compartment No. 16 is located in the rear part of the Dahan Forest Road, part of the southern extension of Taiwan's Central Range, measuring of 432 ha. Its boundaries are delimited by the Mt. Kuzilun in the east, Mt. Dahan peak in the southwest, Mt. Rihmu in the west, and the Jin-shuei-ying southeast. The area is a basin and major stream is Lili River, which came from Mt. Kuzilun.

An Introduction

This area, a basin surrounded by mountains in every direction, is located in the cloud zone in Taiwan. When in the low air pressure and in a lot of sunshine, air currents become more volatile, carrying water from the bottom of the mountain to the peak. They are reasons for this dampness. This latitude of the area ranges from 500 to 1,688 meters. The average temperature in a year is 17.3 °C. The highest temperature in a year is 21.4 °C in July and the lowest temperature is 13.2 °C in January. Most precipitation is from May to September. Average rainfall is about 3,680.5 mm and summer rains are common.

Biological Resources

Jin-shuei-ying Broadleaf Forest Reserve contains a virgin broadleaf forest of 242 hectares (56%) and afforestation of 190 ha (44%) with a low nature degree. During Japanese Occupation, taxonomists have discovered many new plant species or records thereof all of which have been named after Jin-shuei-ying and word of the existence of these species have become known by other biologists by this classification scheme. Early since 1937, Japanese Soma Tadasaburo recorded 57 families and 228 species of plants; in 1991, experts like Yang, Sheng-Ren extracted the past recorded and found out totally 126 families and 756 species of plants. This place contains abundant plant resources of special endemic plants and 31 families and 59 species of the rare plants, such as the amentotaxus formosana li declared by the Cultural Heritage Preservation Act.

There are three types of virgin forest plant societies:
  1. Long-fruit litseas and Drypetes hieranensis forests in the downward slopes at lowers latitudes from 1,000 to 1,250 meters, where amentotaxus formosana li is abundant.
  2. Proteaceae-Lauraceae forest type in the mid-slopes or branch ridges at latitudes of 1,250 to 1,450 meters. And there is still some difference in the membership of this sample area. They can be classified in two: Pasania dodonaeifolia Hayata-Proteaceae-Litsea acuminata-Machilus japonica forest type and Engelhardtia roxburghiana Wallich-Proteaceae-Litsea acuminata-Machilus japonica forest type.
  3. The plants at latitudes of 1,600 meters in the Mt. Guzihlun. Because this area is situated in the windward dwarfed zone, trees are shorter than others. And with its dampness all through the year and rich vegetation of ground cover, it is inhabited by ferns and orchids.

Totally 238 species of ferns are on record; the fern quotient is 11.3—the highest island-wide. This area is the dampest area in the mountains. Grammitidaceae plants are richly populated. What is special about the scenic view here is that mosses and ferns are thickly covered on the tree stems. Jin-shuei-ying is the only place in Taiwan where Alsophila loheri (Christ) Tryons is present, accompanied by Quercus sessilifolia forests, which forms a unique forest type on this island. It also contains other endemic species like Pasania dodonaeifolia Hayata, Jin-shuei-ying Lithocarpus shinsuiensis Hayata & Kanehira, Pasania kodaihoensis, Lithocarpus rhombifolia Hay, Illicium tashiroi Maxim, and Quercus championi Benh. This place is ecologically meaningful for Taiwan.

Current Conservation Status

With rich plants and its high biodiversity, Jin-shuei-ying serves as a wonderful place for research in Taiwan. Good monitoring of plant growth is preparation for later protection of rare species and unique forest phenomenon. The animal databases lack information; thus, basic information is in urgent need of being recorded. As for the management of local afforestation, the natural plant communities will be restored naturally.
Photos

The following is an explanation of how to use our album through keyboards:

  • Up key:Show photo menu
  • Down key:Hide photo menu
  • Left key:Previous photo
  • Right key:Next photo
  • Esc key:Leave album
Visit counts:2043 Last updated on:2016-07-13

您的瀏覽器不支援JavaScript功能,若部份網頁功能無法正常使用時,請開啟瀏覽器JavaScript狀態
友善列印 :
請利用鍵盤按住Ctrl + P開啟列印功能
字級設定 :
IE6請利用鍵盤按住ALT鍵 + V → X → (G)最大(L)較大(M)中(S)較小(A)小,來選擇適合您的文字大小,
而IE7或Firefox瀏覽器則可利用鍵盤 Ctrl + (+)放大 (-)縮小來改變字型大小。 棲地保育 - 野生動物重要棲息環境 - 浸水營野生動物重要棲息環境
:::

浸水營野生動物重要棲息環境

基本資料

保護區名稱 浸水營野生動物重要棲息環境
面積(公頃) 1,119.28
範圍 國有林潮州事業區第16林班
中央主管機關 行政院農委會
地方管理機關 林務局屏東林區管理處
類別 森林生態系
公告日期 89.10.19
 

成立緣起

[浸水營野生動物重要棲息環境-1]

大漢山屬於中央山脈南端延脈的末端,它除了是浸水營野生動物,重要的棲息環境外,還是台灣穗花杉的自然保留區,由於浸水營是南台灣中低海拔,原始闊葉林相的代表區域,因此大漢山的生態環境也非常的豐富,其中的鳥類、兩棲類及爬蟲類動物最具特色,甚至在林道邊就可以看到許多的物種。

從日治時代以來,植物分類學者於此發現許多新種或是新紀錄種的植物,並且以浸水營之地名來命名,因而聲名遠播。近年來,根據楊勝任教授的調查,區內的固有種及台灣稀有種共有31科59種,其固有率和歧異度之高,值得深入探討,所以農委會於89年10月19日,將國有林潮州事業區第16林班,劃定為「浸水營野生動物重要棲息環境」,以保護這片重要的棲息環境。

地理位置

浸水營闊葉樹林自然保護區,位於屏東林區管理處潮州事業區第16林班,即位於大漢林道尾端,地理位置則屬台灣中央山脈南部延脈末端,面積共432公頃。東方以姑子崙山為界,西南方為本區最高點之大漢山,西方為日暮山,東南方為浸水營,地形四面環山,中央為凹地,主要溪流為力里溪,發源於姑子崙山。

環境概述

[浸水營野生動物重要棲息環境-2]

本區地形為一凹地,四面環山,位處台灣雲霧帶,由於氣壓低日照強時氣流會自然上升,從山谷吹向山頂之氣流會夾帶水分,使本區氣候非常潮溼,全區海拔500~1688公尺。本區年均溫為17.3℃,最熱為七月之21.4℃,最冷為元月之13.2℃,雨量集中在5~9月,全年降雨量約3680.5毫米,為夏雨型氣候。

生物資源

浸水營闊葉樹林自然保護區中原始闊葉林佔有242公頃(56%),造林面積佔190公頃(44%),高自然度之比例不多。然因自日治時代迄今,植物分類學者於此發現多種新種或新紀錄種,並以浸水營命名,故聲名遠播。早自1937年日人清水英夫記錄57科228種,1991年,楊勝任等節錄以往觀察記錄共126科756種,顯見本區植生十分的豐富,尤以地域性之植物特別豐盛,稀有植物包括31科59種,其中包括文資法公告之臺灣穗花杉。本區的原始森林植物社會可分類成三型:1.分布於較低海拔1000~1250m,溪谷下坡或凹地之長果木薑子,南仁鐵色林型,區內有臺灣穗花杉。2.生長在全區中坡或支稜,海拔1250~1450m之山龍眼-假長葉楠林型。由於樣區中樹種組成略有差異,可再細分為柳葉柯-山龍眼-假長葉楠亞型與臺灣黃杞-山龍眼-假長葉楠亞型。3.分佈較高處海拔約為1600公尺中央山脈之姑子崙山一帶,本林型由於位居衝風處,樹高較低,經年潮溼,因之地被植物豐富,尤以蕨類及蘭科植物最為豐盛。

總計蕨類共238種,蕨類商數為11.3,為全台之冠,本區實為台灣山區中最為潮溼之地區。本區中禾葉蕨科特別豐富,樹幹上覆蓋著層層的禾葉蕨植物,與苔蘚互相競爭,為全台難得一見之特殊景觀。而南洋桫欏全台慬本區有分布,與鍵子櫟林伴生為全台獨特性之林型。其他如柳葉柯亞型,組成成分包括浸水營石櫟、后大埔石櫟、菱葉柯及大武八角、嶺南稠等地域性植物,具有極特殊之植物地理生態意義。

保育現況

[浸水營野生動物重要棲息環境-3]

本區植生豐富,生物歧異度之高稀有植物之多均屬全台首屈一指,實為植物學術研究最佳園地。為保護稀有植物及特殊林型,未來應加強植生監測。本區動物相資料缺乏,亟應加強研究建立基本資料,而有關當地造林地之經營,未來應採取任其自然之方式,讓天然植群慢慢恢復。
瀏覽人次:1313 最後更新日期:2016-07-13