:::

Xue-ba Forest Reserve

:::
Primary Object for Protection Cedar primeval forest, Needle and broad-leaved primeval forest, Special topography, Glacier relics and Wildlife.
Size of Area (ha) 20,869.82
Scope of Administration Compartment 53-4 and 56~64 of Daan Creek Working Circle for National Forest and Compartment 76~84 of Mt. Ba-sian Working Circle for National Forest. Those compartments lie in Syue-ba Park.
Authority in-charge-of Dong-shih Forest District Office, Forestry Bureau
History The nature reserve was established to preserve the forest in 1981 and Syue-ba Forest Reserve has been established according to the official document No. 0951700407, issued by Forestry Bureau on April 10, 2006.

Origin

Syue Mountain of 3,884 meters in height shares a portion of lands in Miao-li and Taichung County. The peak of Mt. Syue ranks second in height among others across the island. Da-ba-jian Mountain of 3,490 meters in height, sharing a portion of lands in Hisin-chu County and Miao-li county, is located in the north of Mt. Syue. The mountain, also called “Century’s Peak,” is featured by its unique mountainous landscape. The two mountains are connected with ridge trails, known as “Saint Ridge Trails.” There is a dozen of mountain peaks over three thousand between the two mountains. In between, many circs can be discovered, being the most of remains found in Taiwan. The particular mountain ranges and topography have helped nurture various species of animals and plant. The Council of Agriculture, by establishing, in 1981, “Syue-ba Forest Reserve,” protected the cedar primeval forest, needle and broad-leaved primeval forest, special topography, glacier remains and wildlife. In addition, Forestry Bureau issued the official document No. 0951700407 on April 10, 2006, indicating that “Syue-ba Forest Reserve” was established according to the amendment to Forestry Act.

Location

The range of the area spans across Hsin-chu, Miao-li, and Taichung Counties, and it sits in the large forestland in the west of the main crest-line between Mt. Syue and Da-ba-jian Mountain. The scope of administration embodies Compartments 53-4, and 56~64 of Daan Creek Working Circle for National Forest and Compartments 76~84 of Mt. Ba-sian Working Circle for National Forest. Those compartments are administered by Hsin-chu and Dong-shih Forest District Offices under Forestry Bureau. The forest reserve covers a total area of 20,869.82 ha, sharing the part of between 1,100 and 3,886 meters above seal level. Until now, Syue-ba Forest Reserve ranks first in height among others all over Taiwan.

An Introduction

The altitude of higher than 1,100 meters in the forest reserve has 10 °C in avg. temperature while its average temperature in summer is mostly below 16 °C. The vertical changes in temperature are very obvious. If visitors want to reach the top of Mt. Syue through the entrance to Wu-ling Farm or the one in Guang-wu to Da-ba-jian Mountain, the climate varies from warm-temperate, cold-temperate, to frigid. The soil of the area is made up of pebble from after weathering, and it is dry podzolic soil. The primary crest area are Mt. Jia-li, Mt. Yi-ze, Mt. Da-ba-jian, Mt. Siao-ba-jian, Mt. Ba-sa-la-yun, Mt. Bu-siou-lan, Mt. Sumida, Mt. Syue North Peak, Mt. Huo-shih, and Mt. Tou-ying. Among them, Da-ba-jian Mountain of 3,505 meters in height is so gorgeous a sight that it is reputed as “Barrel Mountain or “Century’s Peak.” Syue Mountain of 3,884 meters ranks fifth among others in height, that is second to Mt. Jade, all over Taiwan. Therefore, it is also known as “Second Highest Mountain.” The circs beneath, being remains of glacier, the area are significant both in cultural and natural value.

Biological Resources

According to preliminary investigation, there are more than 300 species of plants in the area. Regarding its climate of cold-temperate and temperate environment as well as altitude, it is considered an abundant treasure of species. Among them, there are some of the valuable and rare species. The vegetation includes alpine frigid plain, and forest and grassland, and they are endemic species of the alpine frigid plain with unique genes that can only be found in Taiwan. With its vast area of alpine frigid plain in Syue Mountain, its variety of species can be regarded as the gene treasure of plants of Frigid Zone in Taiwan.

Aside from alpine frigid plain, Yushan cypress and Taiwan cedar are the two most symbolic communities of plants in the region over 2,800 meters. The gentler slope is covered by Yushania Niitakayamensis, forming a large area of alpine grassland scene, while Yushan cypress forms into different shapes according to locations. Cypress in the area can be found on slopes between 3,400 and 3,600 meters with elegant outlook, measuring to 10 to 12 meters and 30 to 60 cm in diameter at breast height (DBH), while larger ones can reach over one meter. Cypress, which grows on windless slopes with better soil, usually has taller trunk and branches. For example, cypresses around Cuei Lake on Syue Mountain, which is rather common, usually carry trunk, at the age of older than 2,000 years, with diameter over one meter. As for the wind surface on the ridge, the plants usually have the shape of low shrub or crooked branches. On the other hand, cypress on the windward side tends to from into short scrub or meandering shape. Though there is a great amount of high mountain in Taiwan, which does not work much to retain much underground water, while Yushan cypress can accumulate soil, and contribute greatly to soil and water conservation of high mountain.

Taiwan cedar is the primary plant commumty in the sub-frigid (sub-alpine) climate of Taiwan, and it is widely distributed between 2,800 to 3,500 meters high. At the upper stream of Ci-jia Creek and the valley between Pin-tian Mountain to the main crest of Mt. Syue, it is the most favorable spot for cedars growth, being the most beautiful of woods appearance among the rest.

In April or May when hikers visit Mt. Syue and Da-ba-jian Mountain, they can see pink or snow-white Rhododendron pseudochrysanthum Hayata, dark green Taiwan cedar, goose yellow Yushania Niitakayamensis, and elegant Yushan cypress, with recognizable layers. They are typical of alpine view in Taiwan, while those in the proximity of Syue-ba National Park are considered to be most characteristics.

For animals, the main species are Formosan black bear, Capricornis crispus swinhoei, Formosan Rock Macaque, White-faced flying squirrel, Mustela sibirica davidiana, Alpine Accentor, Coal Tit, Regulus goodfellowi, White-whiskered Laughing thrush, Vinaceous Rosefinch, Cettia acanthizoides, and Spotted Nutcracker. Among them, there are some endangered species as Onchorhynchus formosanus, Formosan black bear, Leopard cat, Syrmaticus mikado, Swinhoe's Pheasant, White-throated Laughing Thrush, Hynobius formosanus, and Pazala eurous asakurae Matsumura.

Current Conservation Status

As an overview of the area, the terrain is mostly with many high mountains and deep valleys. Because inconvenient traffic, there is comparatively less human interference. Most of the areas remain intact except in Jhu-dong Forest and Da-syue-shan Forest, where there is forest plantation, and some agricultural activities going on at Wuling Farm, Jia-yang, Huan-shan, Sih-yuan, and Nan- shan.

Mt. Syue and Da-ba-jian Mountain are one of the popular hiking trails in Syue-ba Forest Reserve, and 99 and 369 lodges are set up for hikers, therefore, many people stay in the lodges. As a result, trash is always the biggest problem in the area. The other problems include damage done to the environment because of camping and camp fire. As of it, the area is managed with regular patrol, and trash cleaning to publicize visitors about fire and environmental protection. Nonetheless, it is critical to establish complete ecological data of high mountain ecosystem. Furthermore, monitoring stations and a weather station will be set up to mee
 
Photos

The following is an explanation of how to use our album through keyboards:

  • Up key:Show photo menu
  • Down key:Hide photo menu
  • Left key:Previous photo
  • Right key:Next photo
  • Esc key:Leave album
Visit counts:1701 Last updated on:2016-07-13

您的瀏覽器不支援JavaScript功能,若部份網頁功能無法正常使用時,請開啟瀏覽器JavaScript狀態
友善列印 :
請利用鍵盤按住Ctrl + P開啟列印功能
字級設定 :
IE6請利用鍵盤按住ALT鍵 + V → X → (G)最大(L)較大(M)中(S)較小(A)小,來選擇適合您的文字大小,
而IE7或Firefox瀏覽器則可利用鍵盤 Ctrl + (+)放大 (-)縮小來改變字型大小。 棲地保育 - 自然保護區 - 雪霸自然保護區
:::

雪霸自然保護區

:::

基本資料

主要保護對象 翠池地區玉山圓柏純林、針闊葉林、冰河特殊地形景觀、冰河遺跡及野生動物
面積(公頃) 20,869.82
範 圍 大安溪事業區第53、54、56-64林班,八仙山事業區第76-84林班(位於雪霸國家公園範圍內)
管理機關 行政院農業委員會林務局東勢、新竹林區管理處
設立時間 70年公告成立國有林自然保護區,95.4.10農林務字第0951700407號公告成立自然保護區

成立緣起

雪霸自然保護區

雪山位於苗栗縣、台中市交界處,標高 3884 公尺,為雪山山脈的最高峰,也是台灣的第二高峰,大霸尖山則位於雪山之北,新竹苗栗兩縣之間,海拔高度3490公尺,山容獨特,素有「世紀奇峰」的美譽,兩山之間稜線相連,以「聖稜線」聞名於世,這兩山之間,超過三千公尺的山峰,多達數十座,其間並多有圈谷,是為台灣冰河遺跡最多的地方,而且山谷雜錯,地形複雜,孕育著許許多多的動植物,為了要保護其間的香柏原生林、針闊葉原生林、特殊地形景觀、冰河遺跡及野生動物,行政院農委會於民國 70年,公告此地為「雪霸自然保護區」。95年4月10日再依新修正之森林法以農林務字第0951700407號公告成立自然保護區。

地理位置

本區之範圍橫跨新竹、苗栗、臺中市,位於雪山與大霸尖山之主陵以西之大面積林地,在林業經營區分上屬林務局新竹與東勢林區管理處,大安溪事業區第53-54,56-64林班,及八仙山事業區第76-84林班,總面積約20869.82公頃。本區海拔高度在1100~3886公尺之間。

環境概述

[雪霸自然保護區-2]

本區年均溫僅10℃左右,夏季之平均溫亦在16℃以下,氣候的垂直變化極為明顯,由雪山登山口的武陵農場或大霸尖山登山口的觀霧至雪山頂,即涵蓋了暖溫帶、冷溫帶及寒帶的氣候變化,土質為頁岩及板岩所組成之岩層,風化後成礫石地;土壤為乾性灰化土。主要之山峰包括加利山、伊澤山、大霸尖山、小霸尖山、巴沙拉雲山、布秀蘭山、素密達山、雪山北峰、火石山及頭鷹山。其中大霸尖山海拔3505公尺,氣勢磅礡,有「酒桶山」及「世紀奇峰」之美譽。雪山為台灣第五高峰,海拔3884公尺,是僅次於玉山群峰之山脈,又有「次高山」之稱,其下圈谷為冰河遺跡具有文化與自然雙重之價值。

生物資源

[雪霸自然保護區-3]

全區植物種類經初步調查至少發現有300種以上,以本區海拔與氣候屬於冷溫帶、溫帶環境而言,可謂極為豐富,且其中不乏珍貴稀有種。而植被型則包括了高山寒原、森林與草生地,這些生育於高山寒原的特有種,他們所攜帶的獨特遺傳基因均不存在於全世界任何其他地方,而為臺灣所獨享。雪山地區的高山寒原面積既廣,種類亦多,可以說是臺灣寒帶植物基因的寶庫。

除高山寒原外,本區內海拔2800公尺以上另有兩種植物群落為全臺同類型群落中最具代表性者,即玉山圓柏與臺灣冷杉林。坡度較緩處則被玉山箭竹所覆蓋,形成大片的高山草原景觀;而玉山圓柏在本區隨地點之不同而呈現不同之形狀,此區的玉山圓柏生育在3400~3600公尺間的緩坡,樹形優美,高約10~12公尺,胸徑多在30~60公分之間,較大者可達1公尺以上。如在避風且土壤較佳之地區則呈高聳直立,如在雪山翠池附近之玉山圓怕其直徑超過1公尺以上(樹齡2000年以上)者比比皆是,而位於嶺線衝風地帶則形成低矮灌叢或匍匐彎曲狀。臺灣高山多箭竹保水力弱,而玉山圓柏根群積聚土壤,對台灣高山之水土保持貢獻很大。

臺灣冷杉林為臺灣亞寒帶(亞高山)氣候的主要植物群落,本區內的冷杉林廣泛分布於2800~3500公尺之間,尤以七家灣溪上游、品田山至雪山主峰之間的谷地生長最為良好,為全臺同類森林中林相最為優美者。

每年4~5月攀登雪山及大霸尖山,可見粉紅或雪白之玉山杜鵑、墨綠的冷杉、鵝黃的玉山箭竹及樹姿優雅的玉山圓怕層次分明,這是台灣高山景觀的典型代表,而以雪霸一帶最具特色。

在動物方面,哺乳類共17科30種,鳥類約60種,主要之組成代表有臺灣黑熊、長鬃山羊、臺灣獼猴、白面鼯鼠、華南鼱鼠、岩鷚、煤山雀、火冠戴菊鳥、金翼白眉、酒紅朱雀、深山鶯、星鴉等等,其中更有一些是瀕臨絕種的動物如臺灣鱒(櫻花鉤吻鮭)、臺灣黑熊、石虎、帝雉、藍腹鷴、白喉笑鶇、臺灣山椒魚及升天鳳蝶等。

保育現況

[雪霸自然保護區-4]

綜觀本區地形,山高谷深,且因交通不便,較少人為干擾,除了竹東林區與大雪山林區有造林作業,武陵農場,佳陽,環山,思源及南山等地有農業活動之外,其他地區大多保持著原始自然風貌。

本區內之雪山及大霸尖山係一熱門的登山路線,設有九九及三六九等多處山莊供登山者使用,因來此登山民眾很多,故垃圾的清理一直是本區最大的問題,其次露營與營火薪材之伐取除有森林火災之虞外,對生態亦造成相當程度之破壞,因此本區之管理工作除定期巡邏,清除垃圾,宣導請登山遊客自制外,最重要的還是建立完整的高山生態系資料;另為經營之需要,將來除計劃設立監測站,氣象站以供研究之用外,應加強當地之環境教育建立調查高山生態系監測系統,設立永久樣區進行長期生態監測,蒐集本區各項生物資源、族群數量,並確認本區之評估指標及指標物種,以監測本區環境變動。
附件下載
檔案名稱 格式
雪霸自然保護區公告函(民國95年) pdf pdf 檔案大小:256KB 下載次數:480
核定雪霸自然保護區經營管理計畫函 pdf pdf 檔案大小:25KB 下載次數:505
雪霸自然保護區經營管理計畫(核定本) pdf pdf 檔案大小:1066KB 下載次數:897
瀏覽人次:3327 最後更新日期:2016-07-13