:::
News
:::

Mobile Ecosystem Exhibition - Satoyama Animal Train 2.0 Accompanying You on Your Journey

:::
201906/03
In the beginning of last year (2018), the launch of the Satoyama Animal Train amazed the public and received a warm response. The Forestry Bureau of the Council of Agriculture (COA) and the Taiwan Railways Administration (TRA) once again collaborated to create the “Satoyama Animal Train 2.0”. The “Smiling Train”, EMU800 electric multiple unit train, has been painted with four types of Satoyama ecosystem, including secondary forest, stream and river, paddy and wetland, and field settlement, while cute illustrations of a variety of representative wildlife have also been included, serving as a bridge between the Satoyama ecosystem and human lifestyle and embarking on the journey once again with a new look. Today (3rd), witnessed by Chen Chi-chung, Minister of Council of Agriculture; Lin Chia-lung, Minister of Transportation and Communications; and Karen Yu, Legislative Yuan legislator, the inaugural trip, with the theme “Journeying for Love”, departed from the Nangang station.
The Forestry Bureau said that the “National Ecology Green Network Establishment Project”, launched in 2018, serves to announce the cross-departmental cooperation that will step by step take inventory of the national ecology issues and solutions, as well as link the eco-corridors between mountain ranges and the coast. It is hoped that the wildlife of Satoyama will be able to live in safety and travel with peace-of-mind within the conservation network. The Satoyama Animal Train 2.0, traveling between countries and fields, will be gently telling the stories of the many Satoyama wildlife species this time round.
At the inaugural journey press conference, the legislator Karen Yu praised the Satoyama Animal Train for demonstrating the “warm power” of Taiwan, where the incorporation of public sector cross-departmental cooperation and community design aesthetics had launched the most heartwarming railway journey in Taiwan. Chen Chi-chung, Minister of Council of Agriculture, said that the COA has greatly increased the funding for conservation work, but no matter how much large the funds may be, it would be impossible to implement conservation measures if there is no participation from all members of society. Therefore, it is essential that everyone must have knowledge and concern for animals and the environment. Lin Hwa-ching, Director General of the Forestry Bureau, said that the habitats of well-known protected wildlife species such as the Formosan black bears and Mikado pheasant are in a relatively well-protected medium-high altitude environment. However, the habitats of about 55% of wildlife are in the low-altitude mountain and plain environment, which are mostly private land and heavily developed by humans. Therefore, the Forestry Bureau, together with the various relevant bureaus of the COA, as well as through cross-departmental cooperation, launched the National Ecology Green Network, using methods such as ecological afforestation and eco-friendly farming to improve the habitat of these animals. The Satoyama Animal Train symbolizes the vision of enabling wildlife to travel freely and unhindered.
 
Cross-Departmental Cooperation - Rebuilding the National Green Network along the Green and Blue Belts
The Forestry Bureau further explained that for 60% of Taiwan's wildlife, there is a huge overlap of their habitat and human living environment at an altitude of one thousand meters and below on the central mountain ridge. Under manmade damages such as road constructions, land development, excessive land cultivation, and the use of pesticides, the landscape where people and nature coexist at Satoyama landscape is becoming scarce, and the survival of Satoyama wildlife is threatened. Therefore, the “National Green Network Project” was proposed to mend the broken habitat so that the interdependence between species and the ecosystem, as well as the food chain (net) can become whole, in order to regain a harmonious relationship between men and the ecosystem.
Over the past year of the implementation of the National Green Network Project, basic national environmental and ecological data have been gradually collected and established through the cross-departmental platform. In addition to the establishment of the first eco-corridor between the Central Mountain Range and the Coastal Mountain Range in Guangfu Township, Hualien County, important preliminary accomplishments include: integration of farmland and wetlands with an area of more than 125 hectares next to secondary forests, which promotes eco-friendly production and preserves the habitat of more than 100 bird species; 63 conservation action plans for more than 10 endangered wildlife species such as the leopard cat and grass owl; implementation of “green belts” measures such as constructing anti-roadkill eco-corridors on railroads-highways and improving existing roads and construction facilities; encouraging reduced pesticide use and transformation of agricultural areas with biodiversity potentials, using the Green Conservation Label to create a safe and habitable environment for wildlife, as well as to provide eco-friendly food that consumers can eat with peace of mind. There are currently 325 Green Conservation Label farms with a total production area of 469 hectares, sheltering the habitat of more than 40 protected wildlife species.
 
Satoyama Mobile Ecosystem Exhibition - Trains are More than Transportation Vehicles
The Forestry Bureau pointed out that the colorfully painted Satoyama Animal Train is not only a mode of transportation but also an environmental education platform. Members of the public can get to know and pay more attention to the low-altitude mountain animals and the Satoyama ecosystem through the vibrant paintings of the wildlife, their ecological habits, and habitat, which will, in turn, help them to understand and support the National Ecology Green Network Project.
The first-generation colorful Satoyama Animal Train that was launched last year included eight different adorable wild animal species on its carriages, accompanying the children on their journeys and becoming the most popular painted train with the public. This year, four types of ecosystems have been painted across eight carriages on the “Satoyama Animal Train 2.0”. It assembled over a hundred indigenous Satoyama wildlife species inside and outside the carriages, while the LCD screens in each carriage played a collection of ecological films. The Forestry Bureau also specially transformed the second carriage into a “Mystery Carriage”, where ingenious environmental installations are set up for passengers to experience the natural environment of Satoyama as if they were there in person. The Forestry Bureau hopes that through the painted train, the animals of Satoyama will become a part of people's daily life so that the public will pay more attention to ecological conservation.
The Satoyama Animal Train will officially join the Taiwan Railways Administration's local train service starting from June 5th. In the future, it will mainly travel the Western Lines from Keelung to Chiayi, and Houli to Chaozhou. It will also cooperate with the various Satoyama activities organized by the Forestry Bureau this year. If opportunity arises, services will be added on for the Hualien-Taitung region.
The inaugural journey of the Satoyama Animal Train 2.0 will be going south, departing from Nangang train station to Tongxiao. The participating tour groups will be visiting Fong Shu Village and the animal passageway at Miaoli County Road No. 29. The low-altitude hills of Miaoli have the most stable distribution and habitat for the indigenous leopard cat population in Taiwan. The “Fong Shu Wo Leopard Cat Rice”, which is cultivated in an eco-friendly method, is the best-implemented model of the Satoyama Initiative. The Miaoli County Road No. 29 is a key location where the leopard cat population of Miaoli passes to go to the low-altitude mountain eco-corridors of Houlong Township, Zaoqiao Township, and Xihu Township. With the subsidy of the National Green Network Project, the first county and village road version of “wildlife passageway” in Miaoli County was successfully launched, improving the leopard cat roadkill situation for this section of the road.
The TRA said that the Satoyama Animal Train 2.0 had an early launch to cooperate with the Taiwan Railway 132nd anniversary celebration. The TRA issued 1,000 sets of limited-edition commemorative tickets to be sold at the Nangang station for the public to add to their collection. In the future, the Forestry Bureau will continue to maintain the popularity of the Satoyama Animal Train, related cultural-creative merchandise will be launched at the Taiwan Railway Shop so that passengers interested in the Satoyama Animal Train will be able to influence more people by not only riding the train, but also through collecting these heartwarming and practical Satoyama animal concept products. In addition, it will deepen the public’s understanding and support of the national biodiversity safety network for “mountains, rivers, plains, and sea” across the country.
The Forestry Bureau said that the information on the schedule of the Satoyama Animal Train will be announced from time to time on the “Forestry Bureau - TW Forest” Facebook fan page, and the related activity information can also be found on the “Satoyama Animal Train official website”. When waiting on the train platform, you can scan the QR code on each carriage's exterior and enter the dedicated webpage to learn about each type of animals from Satoyama and enrich your knowledge.
 
※ News and Knowledge
Introduction of the Satoyama Ecosystem
  1. Secondary Forest
A secondary forest refers to a forest ecosystem that has gradually regrown over a number of years after the original natural and stable forest has been destroyed by fire or manmade destruction such as logging. The mountainous areas near the low-altitude mountain settlements in Taiwan are mostly secondary forests, where it is easily accessible to human disturbance. In the early days, people's lives were closely interdependent with secondary forests. The appropriate use of forest resources contributed to the renewal of forests and a rich biodiversity.
Commonly seen secondary forest wildlife include the Reeves's muntjac, macaques, masked palm civet, and the Taiwan barbet, while currently threatened species include the leopard cat, pangolin, and yellow-margined box turtle.
  1. Stream and River
Taiwan has a unique topography where the mountains extend from the center of the island to the coasts. Many small streams merge into rivers, then flow to the plains, and finally into the ocean. Therefore, rivers are important connecting and interfacing zones between the land and sea ecosystems, as well as important water eco-corridors. A degraded river or stream ecosystem will lead to impacts on the ecological operation of forests, farmlands, wetlands, and coasts.
Commonly seen river species include the blue whistling thrush, Swinhoe's frog, and Taiwan torrent carp. Species that face greater threats to survival, such as migratory fish and horsehair crabs, are often blocked by artificial structures and cannot successfully swim from downstream to the upstream habitat or to reproduce.
  1. Paddy and Wetland
The farmland ecosystem is an ecosystem that is influenced by the interaction between man and nature, in particular, paddy fields and terrace fields are important wetland environments. In addition to having agricultural production value, there is also a wide range of values including biodiversity, water conservation, soil and water conservation, climate regulation, and cultural legacy. However, the long-term use of pesticides, herbicides, and fertilizers has reduced the biodiversity of farmland. The Forestry Bureau promotes the Green Conservation Label eco-friendly farmland project in the hopes that agricultural production and ecological conservation can co-exist and co-prosper, and that the farmlands can once again become a habitat for organisms.
Commonly seen paddy and wetland animals include the cattle egrets, black-crowned night herons, and pond loach, while threatened species include yellow pond turtles, Eastern Asiatic freshwater clams, Ceriagrion melanurum damselfly, and Latham's snipe.
  1. Field Settlement
The landscape of interspersed farmlands and settlements is a common sight in the Taiwanese countryside. People's lives are inseparable from the use of field resources. Common wild plants, such as the Jersey cudweed, is the main ingredient of the Caozaiguo (a type of sweet dough). However, with rapid economic growth, construction and development flooded into the countryside, fertile fields became factories or residential areas, large areas of the fields no longer exist, the biodiversity disappeared, and the rural traditional culture gradually declined.
In the field settlement ecosystem, commonly seen wild animals include the insular mole, light-vented bulbul, sparrows, and barn swallow. Threatened wild animals include the Formosan hare, ring-necked pheasant, and grass owl.
 
※ For more press conference related photos, please go to: http://bit.ly/2WafC58
Back to list
Visit counts:28 Last updated on:2019-09-16

:::
公告訊息
:::

行動的生態系展覽 里山動物列車2.0陪你去旅行

:::
201906/03
  去(107)年初里山動物列車推出引發乘客為之驚艷,帶來熱烈迴響,農委會林務局再次與交通部臺灣鐵路管理局合作,打造「里山動物列車2.0」,於EMU800型微笑號通勤電聯車車廂內外,彩繪次生林、溪流河川、水田濕地、田野聚落4種臺灣的里山生態系,並搭配各種具代表性的野生動植物Q版插畫,串起里山生態與人類生活的拼圖,以全新面貌再次啟程。今(3)日在農委會主委陳吉仲、交通部長林佳龍與立法委員余宛如出席見證下,由南港車站啟航,舉行「因愛啟程」首航活動。
  林務局表示,107年所啟動的「國土生態保育綠色網絡建置計畫」,藉由里山動物列車來宣示將跨機關聯手逐步盤點國土生態問題與解決方案、串連由山脈到海岸的生態廊道,期望里山動物也能因保育網絡而安心生活、快樂旅行。這次則藉著往來田野間的里山動物2.0列車,溫柔地訴說里山生態系裡眾多野生動物們的故事。
  首航記者會上,立法委員余宛如讚許里山動物列車展現了台灣的「暖實力」,透過公部門跨部會合作與民間設計美學的結合,開啟最溫暖療癒的一段鐵路旅程。農委會主委陳吉仲致詞表示,農委會已大幅提高保育經費,但經費再高,若沒有全民參與,是無法落實保育的,因此大家對動物、對環境的認識與愛護更加關鍵。林務局局長林華慶說明,民眾熟知的保育類動物黑熊、帝雉等棲息在保護較完整的中高海拔環境,然而約有55%的野生動物生活在淺山平原環境,多是私有地,受人為開發嚴重。因此林務局結合農委會各相關局處,加上跨部會合作推出國土生態綠網,以生態造林和友善的農作等方式,改善這些動物的棲息環境。里山動物列車,正象徵要讓野生動物們「自由自在地旅行」。

跨機關攜手  沿綠帶、藍帶重建國土綠網
  林務局進一步說明,棲息在中央脊梁山脈海拔一千公尺以降,臺灣60%的野生動物與人類生活範圍高度重疊。在道路切割、土地開發、濫墾與農藥過度使用等現代的人為破壞下,人與自然共存相依的里山地景逐漸稀少,里山動物的生存飽受威脅。因此,「國土綠網計畫」的提出,就是為了縫補破碎棲地,使物種間的依存及生態系、食物鏈(網)得以完整,找回人與生態系的和諧關係。
  國土綠網計畫執行1年來,藉由跨部會平台,已逐步蒐整、建置全國環境及生態基礎資料,除了已在花蓮縣光復鄉建置全國第1條連結中央山脈與海岸山脈的生態廊道外,重要的初步成果還包括:結合次生林旁面積超過125頃的農田濕地,推動友善生產,保全了超過100種鳥類的棲地;針對石虎、草鴞等10多種瀕危野生動物,規劃63項保育行動計畫;營造鐵公路的防路殺生態廊道、改善既有道路及工程設施等「綠帶」措施;鼓勵具生物多樣性潛力點的農業區減藥轉型,透過綠色保育標章認證,營造野生動物安全的宜居環境,也能提供消費者可安心食用的友善生產食物,目前綠保農友已達325戶,生產面積共469公頃,庇護了超過40種保育類野生動物的棲息環境。

里山生態系的行動展示館  讓列車不只是交通載具
  林務局指出,里山動物彩繪列車不僅是交通載具,也是環境教育平台,透過彩繪所展現的里山動物風貌、生態習性、棲息環境,讓民眾認識並關注淺山動物及里山生態系,進而理解、支持國土生態綠網計畫。
  去年推出的第一代里山動物彩繪列車,車廂上8種可愛野生動物帶著孩子們去旅行,成為民眾詢問度最高的彩繪列車。今年「里山動物列車2.0」以4種生態系彩繪8節車廂,集結100多種本土原生的里山動物,躍上車廂內外,各車廂內的LCD螢幕則播放多部生態影片集錦,林務局更特別打造第二節車廂為「神秘車廂」,驚喜的環境小裝置,讓乘客彷彿置身里山聚落的自然環境中。林務局希望透過列車彩繪能讓里山動物走入民眾的日常,讓大眾更加重視生態保育。
  里山動物列車將從6月5日(週三)起正式加入臺鐵區間車服務行列,主要行駛於西部幹線基隆至嘉義、后里至潮州,另也將配合林務局今年度各項體驗里山活動,有機會加開花東地區班次。
       里山動物列車2.0首航活動從臺鐵南港站啟程南下,開往通霄,參訪團將前往楓樹里與苗29鄉道野生動物通道參訪。苗栗淺山丘陵是全台石虎族群最穩定的分布棲地,友善耕作的「楓樹窩石虎米」,則是里山倡議最佳的實踐典範。而苗29鄉道是苗栗石虎族群通往後龍鎮、造橋鄉及西湖鄉淺山廊道的關鍵出沒熱點,藉由國土綠網計畫的經費補助,順利催生苗栗縣第一座縣、鄉道版的「野生動物通道」,改善該路段的石虎路殺情形。
  臺鐵局表示,里山動物列車2.0配合臺鐵歡慶132週年提早啟動,臺鐵局特別在南港站限量發售1,000套紀念套票,供民眾收藏。未來林務局亦將延續里山動物列車熱度,在臺鐵「夢工場」推出相關周邊文創商品,讓喜愛里山動物列車的旅客不只追逐列車,更能藉由收藏這系列療癒又實用的里山動物概念商品,在日常生活中影響更多人,加深全民對「森、川、里、海」國土生物安全網的理解與支持。
  林務局表示,有關里山動物列車的行車資訊,將不定期公布於「林務局-森活情報站」臉書粉絲團,相關活動資訊亦可至「里山動物列車官網」查詢。在月台等候時,更可掃描每節車廂外表的QR code,進入專屬網頁深入認識每一種里山動物,豐富自己的知識。
 
※新聞小知識
里山生態系介紹
一、次生林
次生林指原本穩定的天然林遭到大火、人爲砍伐利用或破壞後,經多年自然復育,演替生長而成的森林生態系統。臺灣靠近淺山聚落的山區多為次生林,受到人為擾動的機會較多。早期,人們的生活也和次生林緊密依存,適當的森林資源利用,有助於森林的更新,也有著豐富的生物多樣性。
常見的次生林野生動物如山羌、獼猴、白鼻心、五色鳥等,目前生存面臨威脅的如石虎、穿山甲、食蛇龜等。
二、溪流河川
臺灣有特殊的地形地貌,山系由島嶼中央往海岸延伸,許多小溪流再集合成河川,往平原流動,最後匯入海洋。因此河溪是陸域與海域生態系間的重要連結介面,也是重要的水域生態廊道。劣化的河溪生態系將連帶影響森林、農田、濕地、海岸的生態運作。
常見的溪流生物如紫嘯鶇、斯文豪氏赤蛙、臺灣石 魚賓 等。面臨較大生存威脅的生物如洄游性魚類及毛蟹,常受到人工構造物的阻隔,無法順利由下游回到上游棲息或繁殖。
三、水田濕地
農田生態系是由人與自然交互影響的生態系,尤其水田與水梯田是很重要的濕地環境,除了具農業生產的價值,還有生物多樣性、水資源涵養、水土保持、氣候調節、文化存續等多元價值。然而農藥、除草劑、化肥的長期使用,降低了農田的生物多樣性。林務局推動綠色保育標章友善農田計畫,即希望農業生產與生態保育共存共榮,讓農田再度同為生物的棲地。
常見的水田濕地生物如牛背鷺、夜鷺、泥鰍等,面臨威脅的如柴棺龜、田蚌、黃腹細蟌、大田鱉等。
四、田野聚落
農田與聚落鑲嵌的地景是臺灣鄉間常見的景觀。人們的生活和田野資源利用密不可分,常見的野生植物如鼠麴草,是草仔粿的原料。然而,隨著經濟起飛,建設開發湧入農村,良田變為工廠或住宅,大面積的田野不再,生物多樣性消失,農村傳統文化亦逐漸式微。
在田野聚落生態系,常見的野生動物如臺灣鼴鼠、白頭翁、麻雀、家燕。面臨生存危機的野生動物如臺灣野兔、環頸雉、草鴞等。
 
※更多記者會相關照片連結請至:http://bit.ly/2WafC58
 
相關照片

下列為本網站使用鍵盤操作相簿功能說明:

  • 向上鍵:照片選單顯示
  • 向下鍵:照片選單隱藏
  • 向左鍵:上一張照片
  • 向右鍵:下一張照片
  • ESC鍵:離開相簿
回列表
瀏覽人次:17 最後更新日期:2019-07-10