:::
News
:::

An Exploration of the Tsou People's Forest Memory Bank, Forestry Bureau Publishes the Plant Book of TSOU

:::
202011/13
    The book launch for the Plant Book of TSOU, published by the Forestry Bureau, dictated orally by the Tsou elder Avayi‧Yatauyagana, and edited by Seedesign, was held today (13th) at the Huashan 1914 Creative Park W5-2 Building. Tsou elders were invited to the event to share their knowledge on the use of tribal plants, and were well-received by the audience for their witty banter. In addition, the book also mentioned the work "Memories of Azalea Mountain - A Tribute to the Alishan Tsou" by Tsou musician Uong'e Yatauyungana (Kao Yi-Sheng). His granddaughter, Yinguyu Yatauyungana, a well-known Tsou singer, was also invited to give a live performance onsite. At the event, food design was also carried out using the concepts of "Food of the Forest: Tsou's Edible Plant Design." Several dozen edible plants, including ailanthus prickly ash, were used for food design that incorporated cultural traditions and innovative techniques to create dishes that allowed guests to experience the wonders of the Tsou's unique plants and the richness of the indigenous land and culture.
    According to the Tsou's origin myth, the gods descended from Yushan and shook the Formosan Sweet Gum. The fruits it dropped became the ancestors of the Tsou. The Tsou people, living in symbiosis with the forests, serve as stewards of nature. The Tsou people, who call the forest their home, have passed down their mountain treasure compendium of "every blade of grass and every tree" through oral tradition. The Chiayi Forest District Office of the Forestry Bureau commissioned Professor Liu Chiung-Hsi of National Taitung University and the elders of the Tfuya tribal community to conduct a botanical survey of plants within the Tsou cultural context. After fieldwork and interviews with the elders, more than three hundred species of plants were recorded. Aesthetic transformation was added to the basis of academic research to enrich the storytelling and aesthetic aspects of the Tsou plants, which were presented in the vibrant Plant Book of TSOU.
    Lin Hwa-Ching, Director General of the Forestry Bureau, said that the Plant Book of TSOU is a memory bank collectively formed of people and plants. The natural and cultural wisdom of the Tsou people is documented through the uses, stories, and crafts of the plants in the lives of the Tsou. The Tsou people have a unique way of looking at plants, and the entire forest is like a library to the Tsou. From sacred plants for ritual use to the common plants transformed into childhood games, the details about tribal life are brought to life and each and every plant offers its own engaging tale. How fortunate we are to be able to simply open the pages of this book and be guided by the Tsou people into their colorful world of botanical life.
    Whether it's legends, such as underground dwarfs giving millet as a gift; linguistic features, like the names given to the various parts, the stages of maturity, and uses for harvesting silvergrass; or rituals, including the magic of the pearleaf microglossa and red quinoa, which are known only to shamans; the yellow rotang palm and the red fruit fig tree, which symbolize men's gathering places; the red cedar that houses the temple of the soul; or the Taiwan davallia that can be used in a secret recipe for a love potion...contained in every botanical record is the wisdom of the ancestors that embodies nature and culture, spirit and body, a wisdom which will be passed down through the generations.
According to the Forestry Bureau, the book categorizes the Tsou's traditional uses of plants. In addition to plant-related sacred myths and legends of the supernatural, the book also includes plants important for hunters, plants used for building and domestic purposes, plants used for healing or that have an adverse effect on other plants, plants used for children's toys, and plants used for farming and raising animals. Each plant is presented through illustrations, with the corresponding name in the Tsou language and scientific names. It is not just a botanical book, it is a crystallization of the Tsou's wisdom on plants.
    If you are interested in this publication, please contact the Government Books Store (address: No. 209, Songjiang Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei City; telephone: 02-25180207). Or you can order the book online (online store website: Goverment Bookstore).
Back to list
Visit counts:77 Last updated on:2021-06-17

:::
公告訊息
:::

走進鄒族的森林記憶庫 林務局發表《鄒的植物書》

:::
202011/13
  由林務局發行、鄒族高德生長老口述編撰、種籽設計操刀美編的《鄒的植物書》(Plant Book of TSOU)一書,今(13)日在華山文創園區西5-2館舉行新書發表會。現場邀請鄒族長老分享部落內植物的利用,妙語如珠的趣事贏得全場觀眾的喝采;此外,書中提及鄒族音樂家高一生作品《杜鵑山的回憶》,也邀來高一生先生的孫女、知名鄒族女歌手高蕾雅現場演唱。會場上也利用「飲食之森:鄒的可食植物設計」,使用刺蔥等廿種可食植物進行食物設計,揉合文化傳統與創新手法創作料理,讓來賓皆能親身體驗鄒族特色植物之美,感受原住民土地與文化的豐富。
  鄒族的創世神話之一說,天神自玉山降臨,搖動楓香落下了果,創造出鄒族祖先,鄒民俯仰於森林間,作為自然的管理人。以森林為家的鄒族人口耳相傳「一草一木」的山林寶典,林務局嘉義林區管理處先前委託臺東大學劉烱錫教授協同特富野部落高德生長老,進行鄒族文化脈絡植物的調查研究工作,經過田野調查與耆老訪談,記錄了近三百餘種植物,以學術調研基底,加入美學轉化,豐富了鄒族植物故事性與美麗,展現繽紛《鄒的植物書》。
  林務局局長林華慶表示,《鄒的植物書》是一部由人與植物共構的記憶庫,記載植物在鄒族生活裡的應用、典故、技藝,彙整了鄒的自然文化智慧。鄒族人看待植物獨樹一格,整座森林就像鄒族的書庫,從用於祭祀的神聖植物到童年野趣的信手拈來,鋪陳出部落生活的點點滴滴,一草一木都有繽紛故事。我們何其有幸,只要翻開書頁,就能由鄒人領路,帶我們走進多采多姿的鄒族植物世界。
  無論是傳說──如地底小矮人贈小米,語言特色──如五節芒的各部位、成熟階段、採集用途都各有名稱,或者儀式術法──像是只有巫師才懂的小舌菊和臺灣藜魔法、象徵男子會所的黃藤與雀榕、收納靈魂家廟的茄苳、還有藏有戀愛秘方的大葉骨碎補……,一篇篇連結山林與文化、連結靈與人的植物記述,都隱含了祖先的智慧,並將代代傳承下去。
林務局指出,本書將鄒族的民俗植物運用加以分門別類,除了植物相關的神聖或鬼神傳說外,還包括獵人眼中的植物、用於建築或家室生活起居的植物、有著療效或相互剋制的醫補忌避植物、用來製作童玩的植物,以及農耕畜牧的植物等,書中每一種植物皆以插畫呈現,對應著鄒語與學名,它不只是一本植物書,更是鄒族智慧在植物身上析出的結晶。
  對本書有興趣的朋友們,可至國家書店洽詢(地址:台北市中山區松江路209號,電話:02-25180207),或至網路訂購(購書網址:https://www.govbooks.com.tw/books/129135)。
相關照片

下列為本網站使用鍵盤操作相簿功能說明:

  • 向上鍵:照片選單顯示
  • 向下鍵:照片選單隱藏
  • 向左鍵:上一張照片
  • 向右鍵:下一張照片
  • ESC鍵:離開相簿
回列表
瀏覽人次:56 最後更新日期:2020-11-13