:::
News
:::

Results from the Constitutional Interpretation on Indigenous Hunting Rights Case Forestry Bureau: In Line with Expectations, Actively Revising Hunting Provisions

:::
202105/07
The Constitutional Court of the Judicial Yuan announced Interpretation No. 803 today (7) stating whether the relevant regulations of the Controlling Guns, Ammunition and Knives Act and the relevant provisions of the Wildlife Conservation Act regarding hunting by indigenous peoples are unconstitutional. In this regard, the Council of Agriculture (COA) said that it has always been the COA's principle to take into account wildlife conservation and animal welfare, as well as to ensure the sustainability of resources. The results of the constitutional interpretation by the Constitutional Court are also generally consistent with the policy and the reform direction currently promoted by the Forestry Bureau of the COA.
Regarding the Wildlife Conservation Act, the results of the constitutional interpretation by the Constitutional Court held that the "traditional culture" referred to in Article 21-1, Paragraph 1, should include the non-profit and self-use practices by indigenous peoples, including traditional food and drinks, every day culture, and use of daily tools. However, unless there are special exceptions, the hunting of wildlife should not include protected species in order to balance the values of indigenous peoples' hunting cultural rights and wildlife conservation. Furthermore, the prior approval application system provided for in Paragraph 2 is a necessary means to ensure the sustainability of wildlife resources and is not inconsistent with the constitutional principle of proportionality.
As for Article 4, Paragraph 3 of the "Regulations on the Management of Indigenous Peoples Hunting or Killing of Wildlife based on Rituals or Traditional Culture" (hereafter referred to as the Hunting Regulations), it stipulates that applications for hunting activities should be submitted five days prior to the hunting activity if the hunting is not carried out on a regular basis. This scope lacks flexibility and cannot meet the intermittent traditional diet and cultural needs of indigenous peoples. It is contrary to the principle of constitutional proportionality and shall cease to apply from the date of interpretation. The competent authority shall amend the regulations to provide a diverse and flexible application mechanism for the country's indigenous peoples. In addition, Article 4, Paragraph 4, Subparagraph 4 of the Hunting Regulations stipulates that the application form should specify the species and number of animals to be hunted, which is not in accordance with the traditional culture and taboos of indigenous peoples and violates the principle of constitutional proportionality, and shall cease to apply from the date of interpretation. The competent authority shall approve the species and number of wild animals that the applicant may hunt by way of sanctions or as supplementary provisions, or specify the matters to be complied with in the hunting behavior.
The Forestry Bureau of the Council of Agriculture stated that under the premise of ensuring the sustainability of wildlife resources, the Bureau will respect the cultural and traditional hunting needs of indigenous peoples and assent to their traditional customs and taboos. Based on the results of the pilot autonomous hunting management program of the Forestry Bureau, the Bureau will review and revise the Wildlife Conservation Act and the Hunting Regulations for indigenous peoples as soon as possible, in order to propose an effective management model that is consistent with the spirit of indigenous peoples' cultures and to properly implement the constitutional interpretation by the Constitutional Court.

[Live Broadcast Preview] Tama Talun, et al. Claim for Interpretation Case Debate (please refer to 3:37:08 for the beginning)
https://www.facebook.com/watch/live/?v=340971207348893&ref=watch_permalink
Back to list
Visit counts:105 Last updated on:2021-10-28

:::
公告訊息
:::

原住民狩獵案釋憲結果 林務局:符合期待,積極修訂狩獵辦法

:::
202105/07
  司法院大法官今(7)日針對原住民狩獵所涉槍砲彈藥刀械管制條例和野生動物保育法相關規定是否違憲案,宣示釋字第803號解釋。對此,農委會表示,兼顧野生動物保育與動物福祉及確保資源永續,是該會一貫的原則,大法官的釋憲結果,也與該會林務局目前推動之政策與改革方向大致相符。
  大法官釋憲結果有關野生動物保育法部分,大法官認為第21條之1第1項所稱「傳統文化」,應包含原住民族基於傳統飲食、生活文化及使用生活工具等非營利自用行為在內,但獵捕之野生動物,除有特殊例外情形,應不包括保育類野生動物,以謀求原住民狩獵文化權利和野生動物保護間價值之衡平。其次,該條第2項所定事前申請許可制,則為確保野生動物資源永續之必要手段,尚與憲法比例原則無違。
  至於「原住民族基於傳統文化及祭儀需要獵捕宰殺利用野生動物管理辦法」(下稱狩獵辦法)第4條第3項,規定獵捕屬非定期性者,應於獵捕活動5日前提出申請,此範圍欠缺彈性,無法因應原住民基於傳統飲食及文化之臨時性需要,有違憲法比例原則,應自解釋日起不再適用。主管機關應修正規定,提供原住民多元彈性之申請機制。再者,狩獵辦法第4條第4項第4款規定,申請書應載明獵捕動物之種類、數量,不符合原住民族傳統文化及禁忌,違反憲法比例原則,應自解釋日起不再適用。主管機關應以處分或為附款之方式,核定申請者得獵捕之野生動物種類及數量,或具體指明狩獵行為應遵行之事項。
  農委會林務局說明,該局後續將在確保野生動物資源永續的前題下,尊重原住民族文化傳統狩獵需求,貼近原住民族傳統慣習與禁忌,在林務局狩獵自主管理試辦計畫之成果基礎上,儘速檢討修訂野生動物保育法與原住民族狩獵管理辦法,提出符合原住民族文化精神且有效的管理模式,落實大法官釋憲精神。

【直播預告】王光祿等聲請解釋案言詞辯論(請參考3:37:08開始)
請至Facebook粉絲團觀看
附件下載
檔案名稱 格式
司法院釋字第803號解釋摘要 pdf pdf 檔案大小:187KB 下載次數:292
回列表
瀏覽人次:232 最後更新日期:2021-06-28