:::
News
:::

Genetically Decoding the Past and Future of the Endangered Formosan Flying Fox

:::
202105/11
The endangered Formosan flying fox (Pteropus dasymallus formosus) is the largest bat in Taiwan, and in the past its scarcity in numbers has resulted in very little research. To establish ecological data of the endangered species native to Taiwan, the Forestry Bureau has continued to monitor flying fox populations to formulate the direction of conservation strategies. Furthermore, the Forestry Bureau has formed a research team in collaboration with Assistant Professor Chen Shiang-Fan of the National Taipei University and Assistant Professor Ko Wen-Ya of the National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University, to analyze the genetic diversity of the Formosan flying fox and the relationship with their relatives in other islands. The team found that the genetic diversity of the Formosan flying fox was low, and the inbreeding coefficient was relatively high. The results have also been published in the international academic journals Biotropica and Journal of Heredity in March of this year.
The research team used next-generation genome sequencing technology to solve the history of the population changes of the Formosan flying fox, and compared these results with that of Okinawa's Orii's flying fox (Pteropus dasymallus inopinatus). The results showed that the two subspecies had opposite fates: the Formosan flying fox population experienced a rapid decline to one-tenth of its original size in a short period of time, while the Orii's flying fox population has grown significantly, increasing approximately five-fold in recent years. However, both Taiwanese and Japanese flying foxes have low genetic diversity and a relatively high inbreeding coefficient, indicating that they are less able to adapt to changes in the environment. In view of unpredictable environmental changes or infectious diseases in the future, the flying fox populations in Taiwan and Japan are both vulnerable.
The Forestry Bureau pointed out that the Formosan flying fox was common in Green Island in the early years, but almost disappeared entirely due to over-hunting. In recent years, small, stable populations have emerged in Turtle Island and Hualien, and have once again caught people's attention. The Formosan flying fox is a subspecies of the Ryukyu flying fox, and different subspecies are distributed in different islands in the East and Southeast Asia island arcs, spanning Japan, Taiwan, and the Philippines. Flying foxes have excellent flying abilities and can migrate over long distances. Therefore, it has been speculated that the populations in different islands have frequent exchanges and may be of the same family. However, because differences in their physical appearance are very small and difficult to distinguish, researchers can only rely on genetic molecular clues to solve the mystery of the origins of flying foxes through history. In addition, genetic diversity can also reflect the evolutionary history of a population, which can be used to estimate the effective population size and assess its "health level," helping us understand the long-term survival potential of flying fox populations.
Lin Hwa-Ching, Director General of the Forestry Bureau, said: "The research and conservation of an endangered species across different countries cannot be done by a single country or individual; it requires the cooperation of many people for the work to be more comprehensive. Our endangered species research and conservation efforts have always been a race against time because we need to understand them better in order to formulate appropriate conservation policies." The research samples are becoming more and more complete with the participation of researchers from different countries, including Assistant Research Fellow Nian-Hong Jang-Liaw from the Taipei Zoo, Tokai University, University of the Ryukyus, University of Tokyo, Okinawa Zoo & Museum, Hirakawa Zoo, American Museum of Natural History, University of London, and National Museum of Natural History of the Philippines. The samples come from Green Island, Turtle Island, Gongliao, Yilan, Hualien, Japan's Iriomote Island, Ishigaki Island, Okinawa, Minami-Daito Island, and Kuchinoerabu Island, as well as Batan Island and Sabtang Island in the Philippines. The scope covers different subspecies and regions, making each sample invaluable.
The results of mitochondrial and microsatellite DNA studies also show that deep and wide straits are a natural barrier for the migration and spreading of flying foxes. Except for the Formosan flying fox and the Yaeyama flying fox (Pteropus dasymallus yayeyamae), other different subspecies have significant genetic differences. The greater the geographical distance, the greater the genetic difference. Deep straits such as the Tokara Strait and Kerama Strait in the northern, central and southern Ryukyu Islands, the Ryukyu Trench on the eastern side of the Ryukyu Islands, and the Bashi Channel on the southern side of Taiwan correspond to the distribution boundaries of different flying fox subspecies. Among them, the population composition of the Formosan flying fox may have multiple ancestral origins. The recently emerged Turtle Island colony not only has its own unique branch, but some of its individuals are even more closely related to the flying foxes on Taiwan's main island and even to the neighboring Yaeyama flying fox population.
The Forestry Bureau will continue to improve the habitat quality of the flying foxes' distribution areas and monitor the kinship of the small colonies on the island. We hope that this endangered species can leave behind its current conservation status as soon as possible and coexist with us in harmony.

Formosan Flying Fox Mini File:
The Formosan flying fox (Pteropus dasymallus formosus) is the largest bat in Taiwan, with a wingspan of up to one meter. It feeds on fruits, flowers, and young shoots. It is an important pollinator that helps disperse seeds in the forest ecosystem. Originally mainly found in Green Island, the flying fox has nearly disappeared due to over-hunting. In recent years, small stable populations have emerged in Turtle Island and Hualien. The Formosan flying fox is an endangered protected species under the Wildlife Conservation Act.
The Formosan flying fox is a subspecies of the Ryukyu flying fox, and different subspecies are distributed in different islands in the East and Southeast Asia island arcs, from the northern islands of the Ryukyu Islands, south to Taiwan, to the northern islands of the Philippines, spanning across three countries. The subspecies include Erabu flying fox, Orii's flying fox, Daito flying fox, Yaeyama flying fox, Formosan flying fox, and Philippine flying fox. Erabu flying fox and Daito flying fox are Natural Monuments of Japan.

Note: Please contact Assistant Professor Chen Shiang-Fan of the National Taipei University for more information on flying foxes.
Back to list
Visit counts:22 Last updated on:2021-08-01

:::
公告訊息
:::

遺傳解密瀕危物種 臺灣狐蝠的過去及未來

:::
202105/11
  瀕危的臺灣狐蝠是臺灣體型最大的蝙蝠,數量相當稀少,過去的研究也非常貧乏。林務局為了建立本土瀕危物種的生態資料,持續監測狐蝠的族群,以了解保育策略擬定的方向,更進一步由國立臺北大學陳湘繁助理教授和國立陽明交通大學可文亞助理教授共同組成研究團隊,分析臺灣狐蝠的遺傳多樣性,及與其他島嶼近親之間的關係,發現臺灣狐蝠的遺傳變異度偏低,且有相對高的近親指數。這個成果也於今年三月刊登在國際學術期刊《熱帶生物學》(Biotropica)和《遺傳》(Journal of Heredity)。
  研究團隊運用次世代基因體定序技術解答臺灣狐蝠的族群變動歷史,並以分布於沖繩島的折居氏狐蝠做為對照比較,結果顯示兩個亞種有著相反的命運—臺灣狐蝠族群曾於短期內經歷了急遽的縮減,數量銳減至原來的十分之一,折居氏狐蝠則有顯著的族群成長,近年來成長約五倍。然而,無論臺灣或日本狐蝠的遺傳變異度都偏低,且有相對高的近親指數,表示牠們對於變動環境的適應生存力較弱,放眼未來不可預知的環境變遷或傳染疾病,臺日兩國的狐蝠族群都很脆弱。
  林務局指出,臺灣狐蝠早年在綠島很普遍,但因過度獵捕而幾乎消失,近年在龜山島和花蓮出現穩定的小族群,重回人們的視野。臺灣狐蝠為琉球狐蝠的一個亞種,不同亞種分別分布在東亞島弧不同的島嶼上,橫跨日本、臺灣和菲律賓三個國家。狐蝠飛行能力優異,可作長距離的遷徙,因此,過去推測不同島嶼的族群交流頻繁,可能是同一個大家族,然而由於牠們的外表特徵差異甚小,不易分辨,研究者只能倚賴遺傳上的分子線索,鑑別古往今來的狐蝠身世之謎。此外,遺傳多樣性也能反映族群的演化歷史,可用來推算有效族群數量並評估族群的「健康程度」,可幫助我們了解狐蝠族群的長期存活潛力。
  林務局局長林華慶表示:「一個跨國分布瀕危物種的研究和保育絕非單一國家或個人能獨立完成,而需集結眾人的合作方能更臻完善,我們對於瀕危物種的研究和保育一直都是在跟時間賽跑,更了解牠們,才能擬定適切的保育政策。」在不同國家研究人員的加入下,包括臺北市立動物園張廖年鴻助理研究員、日本東海大學、琉球大學、東京大學、沖繩動物園、平川動物公園、美國自然史博物館、英國倫敦大學、和菲律賓國立自然史博物館等,研究樣本越來越齊全,分別來自臺灣綠島、龜山島、貢寮、宜蘭、花蓮、日本西表島、石垣島、沖繩、南大東島、口永良部島、菲律賓巴丹島和沙坦島等地,涵蓋不同的亞種和地區,每一份樣本都彌足珍貴。
粒線體和微隨體DNA的研究結果也顯示,深廣的海峽是狐蝠遷徙擴散的天然屏障,除了臺灣狐蝠和八重山狐蝠之外,其他不同亞種間都具有顯著的遺傳差異,地理距離越遠、遺傳差異也越大。北、中、南部琉球的吐噶喇海峽和慶良間海峽、琉球群島東側的琉球海溝、以及臺灣南側的巴士海峽等深層海峽,恰對應到狐蝠不同亞種的分布界線。其中,臺灣狐蝠的族群組成,可能有多個祖先來源,晚近出現的龜山島族群,除了存在自己獨特的支系外,也有部分個體與臺灣本島、甚至鄰近的八重山狐蝠有較為接近的親緣關係。
  後續林務局將持續提升狐蝠分布地區的棲地品質,並監測島嶼上小族群的親緣關係,希望這個瀕危物種能早日脫困,健健康康地與我們共存。

臺灣狐蝠小檔案
臺灣狐蝠(Pteropus dasymallus formosus)是臺灣體型最大的蝙蝠,翼展長可達一公尺,以果實、花朵和嫩芽為食,是森林生態系中重要的授粉和散播種子的媒介。原主要分布於綠島,因過度獵捕而幾近消失,近年在龜山島和花蓮出現穩定的小族群,為野生動物保育法公告的瀕臨絕種保育類野生動物。
臺灣狐蝠為琉球狐蝠的一個亞種,不同亞種分別分布在東亞島弧不同的島嶼上,從琉球群島北方的島嶼、往南至臺灣、再到菲律賓北方的島嶼,橫跨三個國家,分別為永良部、折居氏、大東、八重山、臺灣及菲律賓亞種,其中永良部狐蝠和大東狐蝠為日本的天然紀念物。

備註:有關狐蝠相關研究請洽國立台北大學陳湘繁助理教授。
 
相關照片

下列為本網站使用鍵盤操作相簿功能說明:

  • 向上鍵:照片選單顯示
  • 向下鍵:照片選單隱藏
  • 向左鍵:上一張照片
  • 向右鍵:下一張照片
  • ESC鍵:離開相簿
回列表
瀏覽人次:276 最後更新日期:2021-06-28