:::
News
:::

"Planting Back Bamboo Orchids" - Bringing Back the Beautiful Silhouette in Your Memories

:::
202111/02
Have you ever seen the butterflies that grow on the edge of fields? The Forestry Bureau, the Endemic Species Research Institute (ESRI), and the Environmental Ethics Foundation of Taiwan (EEFT) held the "Planting Back Bamboo Orchids" event in Gongliao today (2nd), to plant bamboo orchids. Currently, there are less than 200 bamboo orchids in the wild in Taiwan. It is hoped that bamboo orchids can return and proliferate in the wild once again, so that these beautiful "butterfly flowers" that exist in the memories of old Gongliao residents can bloom again at the edge of fields.
Bamboo orchid (Arundina graminifolia) is a species of orchid. As its seeds lack endosperm, the plant needs to rely on symbiotic bacteria to obtain nutrients from the environment. In the early days, bamboo orchids were commonly found in the humid and sunny foothills of north and central Taiwan; their blooming season lasts from June to October. Due to habitat loss and land development, overuse of herbicides, and over-harvesting, the once common bamboo orchid is now listed on the 2017 Red List of Vascular Plants of Taiwan as a Critically Endangered plant.
Since 2011, the Forestry Bureau and the Monghoho Production Team have worked together to conserve the rapidly disappearing wetlands in the foothills of Gongliao. The Forestry Bureau pays ecosystem wages to farmers to maintain the habitat of the farmlands, directly or indirectly benefiting the many creatures that inhabit these fields. In 2014, the conservation team discovered the Red Listed bamboo orchid in the terraced paddy fields of the Gongliao collaborative area and continued to carry out habitat patrol and management. In 2019, the ESRI joined the collaborative team under the framework of the Endangered Plant Restoration Program of the National Ecology Green Network to implement basic research and restoration tasks of the bamboo orchid; in addition, they collected fruit pods from Gongliao for propagation and preservation. After two years of ongoing efforts, the team finally produced a stable number of viable seedlings, giving the bamboo orchid a chance to come home.
At the event, Director Yang Jia-Dong of the ESRI presented seedlings to Mr. Hsiao Chun-Yi, a local farmer of Gongliao who is engaged in field preservation work and who also discovered the bamboo orchids, to symbolize the homecoming of the bamboo orchid. In addition, seedlings were also gifted to Gongliao Elementary School, so that the pupils can plant the precious bamboo orchids on the school grounds, allowing them to learn the importance of ecosystem and habitat preservation and to carry on the legacy of habitat conservation. Furthermore, Director General Lin Hwa-Ching of the Forestry Bureau also presented a certificate of appreciation to the local farmers for preserving the bamboo orchid habitat over the years, and to the Gongliao Elementary School for its long-term commitment to promoting local habitat conservation. The Forestry Bureau said this cross-sector partnership echoes the core spirit of the "National Ecology Green Network." In addition to restoring endangered plants, the work also takes into account biodiversity and eco-friendly production, preserving the function of farmland ecosystem services, and enabling a sustainable environment where humans and nature can coexist in harmony in the foothills and plains.
According to the ESRI, bamboo orchid populations in the wild are now extremely rare. The research team only found orchids in four locations in Taiwan, but these populations are very small and even the larger ones only have a few dozen plants. The survival of the bamboo orchid is closely related to human land use practices and has to rely on the local communities for its preservation. Other conservation measures, such as reducing the use of herbicides, are key to the survival of the bamboo orchid populations. The ESRI has included the bamboo orchid in the "National Botanical Garden Project" to begin restoration efforts.
The Forestry Bureau said that thanks to the cooperation of all sectors in the long-term restoration operations, they are now protecting 811 species in 10 collaborative terraced paddy fields of around 7.7 hectares in Gongliao. These include 22 threatened species on the Red List, such as Utricularia bifida and Nymphoides coreana, as well as protected wildlife species, such as the crab-eating mongoose and common rice paddy snake. The Forestry Bureau would also like to remind the public not to trespass into the fields and cause inconveniences to the farmers. If you would like to learn more about the Gongliao terraced paddy fields, please visit the Facebook page "Monghoho Little Barn" to book tours and mini-trips to gain more in-depth knowledge and participate in conservation actions.
Back to list
Visit counts:192 Last updated on:2022-08-16

:::
公告訊息
:::

「把葦草蘭種回家」種回記憶裡的美麗身影

:::
202111/02
  你看過長在田壁的蝴蝶嗎?林務局、特有生物研究保育中心及人禾環境倫理發展基金會今(2)日在貢寮舉辦「把葦草蘭種回家」活動,種下全台野外不到200株的「葦草蘭」,盼使葦草蘭能再次回到野外自然繁衍,讓老貢寮人記憶裡美麗「蝶仔花」再次於田邊綻放。
  葦草蘭(學名:Arundina graminifolia)為蘭科植物,因種子無胚乳,需依賴共生菌從環境取得營養。早年常見於台灣中北部潮濕且向陽的淺山環境,盛花期為6-10月,隨著棲地流失開發、除草劑的濫用還有採集壓力,讓曾經隨處可見的葦草蘭走向名列《2017臺灣維管束植物紅皮書名錄》國家極危(Critically Endangered)植物。
  2011年起林務局跟和禾生產班開始於貢寮合作保育急遽減少的淺山濕地,林務局支付生態薪水請農民維持農田生態系的棲地環境,直接或間接地惠益了棲息田間的許許多多的生物。2014年保育團隊在貢寮合作田區的水梯田發現紅皮書植物葦草蘭,持續進行棲地巡護管理,2019年特生中心在國土生態綠網瀕危植物復育計劃架構下,加入合作團隊,擔負起葦草蘭基礎研究與復育任務,從貢寮採集果莢進行繁殖與保存,經過2年的努力,終於培育出一定數量的實生苗,也讓葦草蘭有了回家的契機。
  這次的活動,除了由特生中心主任楊嘉棟代表贈苗給維護田區、發現種源的當地農友蕭春益先生,象徵葦草蘭「回娘家」的意義外,也同時贈苗給貢寮國小,讓小朋友在校園中種下珍貴的葦草蘭苗,學習並傳承生態系及棲地保育的使命;另外也由林務局局長林華慶頒發感謝狀,感謝當地農戶長年維護葦草蘭棲地,並感謝貢寮國小長期致力於在地保育的推廣。林務局表示,這種跨單位的夥伴關係正呼應了「國土生態保育綠色網絡」的核心精神,在復育瀕危植物的同時,兼顧生物多樣性與友善生產,保全農田生態系服務的功能,連結淺山平原間人與自然和諧共生的永續願景。
  特生中心表示,葦草蘭的野外族群目前已十分罕見,研究團隊只在全臺四個地方發現,只是族群都很小,比較大的族群也才幾十株。葦草蘭的生存與人類土地利用行為息息相關,需仰賴棲地周遭社區居民共同維護,減少使用除草劑等保育,更是葦草蘭族群存續的關鍵。目前特生中心已將葦草蘭納入《國家植物園方舟計畫》,展開復育行動。
  林務局表示,在各界合作長期復育經營下,目前已於貢寮10處約7.7公頃的合作水梯田田區內,守護811種生物,包含22種紅皮書受脅物種,如挖耳草、小莕菜等,及保育類野生動物如食蟹獴、鉛色水蛇等。林務局也請提醒民眾,請勿擅入田區造成農民負擔,若想認識貢寮水梯田,可前往「狸和禾小穀倉」臉書粉絲專頁,預約導覽、小旅行,更深入了解並參與保育行動。
相關照片

下列為本網站使用鍵盤操作相簿功能說明:

  • 向上鍵:照片選單顯示
  • 向下鍵:照片選單隱藏
  • 向左鍵:上一張照片
  • 向右鍵:下一張照片
  • ESC鍵:離開相簿
回列表
瀏覽人次:53 最後更新日期:2021-11-02