:::
News
:::

A Cross-Generational Search for One's Identity - Moving Premier of Documentary "Searching for Taromak: Land of Warriors"

:::
202111/10
The premiere and panel discussion of the documentary Searching for Taromak: Land of Warriors, by the Forestry Bureau of the Council of Agriculture, Executive Yuan, planned and executed by the Taiwan Good Food Association, and produced by Jiu Cai Digital Images, was held at SPOT Huashan in Taipei today (10th). Danaro, the lead actor and chieftain of the Taromak clan, Liao Shih-Han, the director, and Anne Wu, executive secretary of the Taiwan Good Food Association, attended the event to share their experience of the filming.

The elders of Taromak often say, "When you go into the mountains, you will be able to find yourself."

Taromak is a traditional clan of the Rukai tribe located in Taitung, which means "land of warriors." After many migrations, the clan settled in Kapaliwa more than 300 years ago and has remained there for centuries. However, a fire in 1969 burned down many of its buildings and artifacts and caused heavy casualties in the village. In recent years, the tribe has started to rebuild its traditional buildings such as ancestral houses, and to pass down its craftsmanship. They are also actively preserving the culture of the tribe through traditional rituals, especially the annual mowing festival, harvest festival, and swing festival, using millet, their traditional farm produce, as the core of the rituals to unite the people. This documentary is a detailed record of how the new chieftain, Danaro, united the tribe, traced the roots of the millet culture, and faced the issue of passing down their traditional tribal culture to younger generations.
Searching for Taromak: Land of Warriors presents the contemporary challenges of cultural survival faced by the traditional tribes in exquisite detail. As the younger son, who was not meant to lead the tribe, Danaro was appointed to succeed as his older brother worked in the city and refused to become the chieftain. How does a young chieftain who "can't even speak the tribal language well" find his own way to lead his clan? How will the youth of Taromak work with each other to preserve and pass down their cultural heritage?
Director Liao Shih-Han has always focused on the local elements of Taiwanese culture as the core of his work. In this film, he also conveys the sustainable spirit of traditional tribes to "take only what you need," and portrays the physical and spiritual connection between the land and the Indigenous people, interweaving a moving natural and cultural landscape. Searching for Taromak: Land of Warriors was awarded the Best Feature Documentary at the New York Film Awards in July, and was also the closing film of the Taiwan Film Festival Berlin this year. It brought the diversity of the Taiwanese peoples and their culture to the international stage and opened the eyes of the overseas audience to the traditional knowledge and culture of Indigenous peoples.
The documentary is part of a project by the Taiwan Good Food Association, which is subsidized by the Forestry Bureau, to assist with tribal community development, adding value to the use of traditional plants (such as millet and upland rice). By following the cultural practices of ecological sustainability and yearly tribal rituals and festivals, the tribe maintains the "Satoyama landscape" while practicing the "Satoyama lifestyle." The goal is to innovatively transform the wisdom of local indigenous peoples in managing the land, the use of natural resources, and preservation of biodiversity to achieve an environmental, cultural, and economic balance. To record this process, the film also captures and realistically presents various aspects of tribal life.
According to the Forestry Bureau, the abundance and beauty of Taiwan's natural environments and the traditional environmental knowledge of Indigenous people's symbiotic relationship with nature may respond to current global issues, such as climate change and biodiversity loss. Through the film, it is hoped that the public gains a better understanding of the tribe's efforts to preserve its millet culture, the rituals and ceremonies the respect for heaven and earth and ancestral spirits, the introspection toward the land and environment, and the implementation of the Satoyama Initiative. To live as the initiative states, "through sustainable use and management of resources, including biodiversity, human societies must find ways to enjoy a stable supply of ecosystem services and continue to exist in a way that does not damage the natural environment." We hope that people living under this culture will continue to live in harmony with the mountains and plains, and realize a harmonious living landscape with forests, communities, and agricultural ecosystems.

※ The documentary Searching for Taromak: Land of Warriors can be viewed for free on the Forestry Bureau's media platform: https://media.forest.gov.tw/video_page.php?mID=otlbgormfj1636099874060
Back to list
Visit counts:16 Last updated on:2022-01-18

:::
公告訊息
:::

世代交替間的文化追尋 紀錄片《尋找達魯瑪克》感動首映

:::
202111/10
  由行政院農委會林務局出品、台灣好食協會策劃執行、九采數位影像製作的「尋找達魯瑪克」紀錄片今(10)日在台北光點華山舉辦首映與座談,男主角─達魯瑪克部落頭目古昌弘、導演廖士涵及策劃團隊台灣好食協會秘書長吳美貌一同現身現場分享影片拍攝歷程。

  達魯瑪克的老人家說:「進到山裡,你就能找回自己。」
  
  達魯瑪克是位於臺東的魯凱族傳統部落,意為「勇士居住之地」。部落歷經多次遷徙後於三百多年前落腳於卡帕里瓦(Kapaliwa),並在此定居數百年,然而1969年的一場大火,造成族人傷亡慘重,許多建築及文物也付之一炬。近年部落展開祖靈屋等傳統建築重建及手藝傳承,同時透過傳統祭儀,積極保存族群文化,特別是每年的除草祭、收穫祭及鞦韆祭,以傳統農作小米作為祭典核心,凝聚族人向心力。本片詳實記錄新任頭目古昌弘如何在世代交替間,團結部落力量、追尋小米文化根源,以及面對傳統部落文化的傳承課題。
  《尋找達魯瑪克》細膩呈現了傳統部落當代面對的文化存續挑戰。作為原本不被賦予領導義務的幼子,古昌弘先生在哥哥出外工作不願返家接任頭目的情況下受命,一個「族語都說不好」的年輕頭目,如何找到自己的方式,帶領部落前進?部落裡的青壯年們,又如何學習與團結彼此力量,一同扛起傳承的使命?
  導演廖士涵素以關注台灣在地元素為創作主軸,在本片中亦傳達了傳統部落「取之有度」的永續精神,刻畫土地與原住民之間的身心靈連結,交織出令人感動的自然人文風景。《尋找達魯瑪克》在今年七月榮獲「紐約電影獎當月最佳紀錄片」,同時也是本屆「柏林臺灣影展」閉幕片,將臺灣人、臺灣文化的多元樣貌帶到國際舞台,使外國朋友們更加認識原住民傳統知識文化。
  本片為林務局補助台灣好食協會陪伴部落發展並加值運用民族植物(例如小米、旱稻等)計畫的一部分,在遵循生態永續、部落歲時祭儀的文化慣習中,達成「里山地景」的維持和「里山生活」的實踐,尋求在地族人管理土地、使用自然資源、維護生物多樣性的傳統山林智識在其中創新轉化,落實環境、文化、經濟的平衡共好。本片作為其過程的記錄,亦捕捉並真實重現了部落生活的各層面。
  林務局表示,臺灣自然的豐饒美麗、原住民與自然相依存的傳統山林智識,正回應了現今全球高度關注的氣候變遷、生物多樣性流失等議題,期盼社會大眾看見族人年復一年的小米文化傳承,祭典、儀式、對天地與祖靈的敬重、對土地環境的反思,以及如實活出里山倡議中「透過永續的自然資源管理和使用以及生物多樣性的妥善維持,讓現今以及未來的人類都可以穩定地享受這種既關照社會、環境,又兼顧生產的自然地景……」的努力。也盼活在這份文化中的人們,得以持續在高山與平原之間,實踐森林、社區與農業生態系構成的和諧生活地景。

※「尋找達魯瑪克」紀錄片可至本局影音資訊平臺免費觀看:https://media.forest.gov.tw/video_page.php?mID=otlbgormfj1636099874060
相關照片

下列為本網站使用鍵盤操作相簿功能說明:

  • 向上鍵:照片選單顯示
  • 向下鍵:照片選單隱藏
  • 向左鍵:上一張照片
  • 向右鍵:下一張照片
  • ESC鍵:離開相簿
附件下載
檔案名稱 格式
達魯瑪克部落行程探索 pdf pdf 檔案大小:1290KB 下載次數:21
回列表
瀏覽人次:34 最後更新日期:2021-11-10