:::
News
:::

2022 Conference on Conservation Actions for Endangered Species: 6 Conservation Strategies from Public and Private Sectors to Protect Endangered Animals

:::
202208/17
The 2022 Conference on Conservation Actions for Endangered Species, organized by the Forestry Bureau of the Council of Agriculture (COA), took place on August 15th and 16th. Participants included delegates of relevant government agencies and conservation organizations in Taiwan, academics, and members of the public concerned with wildlife conservation. Around 200 people attended the event in person, while others watched it via live streaming, with a peak viewership of nearly 300 people. The event reached an average of 7,137 individuals. The Forestry Bureau said that relevant experts were invited to this year's conference to present 11 latest research papers on the conservation of endangered species such as otters. In addition, 5 strategy forums were organized, in which experts and academics worked together to generate 6 practical conservation strategies to address relevant issues, thereby providing an important reference for the future conservation of endangered animals. The Forestry Bureau will also collaborate with other agencies, encourage the general public to support conservation actions, increase knowledge about endangered animals, and step up joint efforts to bring the populations of these species back to normal size.
In his opening remarks, Lin Hwa-Ching, Director General of the Forestry Bureau, pointed out that many endangered species such as the leopard cat, grass owl, and russet sparrow inhabit border zones between mountain foothills and arable flat land, a habitat that highly overlaps with human settlements. For this reason, in addition to conducting necessary surveys, the Forestry Bureau also launched a payments for ecosystem services (PES) policy, which provides farmers and fishermen substantial incentives to take care of endangered species living in their private lands. For instance, a farmer from Kaohsiung who is participating in PES voluntarily gave up one third of his harvest to avoid disturbing nests built by pheasant-tailed jacanas in his white water snowflake farm. Such loss should not be borne solely by the farmer but by the general public together, so that the value of wildlife conservation can take root in the public mind, thereby attaining the ultimate goal of harmonious coexistence between humans and animals.
Director General Lin Hwa-Ching also stated that conservation of endangered species cannot be achieved through the efforts of one government agency alone. Its effectiveness depends on cross-agency collaboration, the participation of experts from various disciplines and non-governmental organizations, and support from the general public. Therefore, he thanked the collaborative endeavors by units of transportation, water resources, and national parks, the financial support of the Council of Agriculture, and the engagement of all partners.
The Forestry Bureau and the Endemic Species Research Institute (ESRI) have completed action plans for the conservation of 11 endangered species, including the Formosan flying fox, mountain hawk-eagle, russet sparrow, grass owl, Maki's keelback, harpist brown frog, and 5 species of primitive salamanders. These plans will be provided to relevant agencies and organizations in due course as a guide for the implementation and planning of endangered wildlife conservation actions and a basis for conservation work. The Forestry Bureau's Nature Conservation website will also set up a section for the disclosure of conservation plans for 22 endangered species and their relevant information.
Yang Jia-Dong, Director of ESRI, especially expressed his gratitude towards civilian scientists' participation, which represents an increase in contribution from civil society to the conservation work.

The topics of the 5 forums in this conference were: "The Construction of Reasonable Relationships Between Humans and Wildlife"; "Major Threats for Threatened Bird Species and Conservation of Priority Bird Species in Taiwan"; "Suggestions for Habitat Deterioration or Disappearance Concerning Amphibious Wildlife Conservation"; "Reptile Wild Herd Restoration and Conservation Strategies"; and "Freshwater Fish Interdisciplinary Conservation Actions". The vigorous discussions among attending experts, academics, and other participants yielded 6 specific strategies as follows:
I.    Increase wildlife habitats through consumer spending: Create a production model that is beneficial for both agriculture and wildlife habitats; provide farmers with agricultural methods or simple habitat creation methods that fulfill the needs of both agricultural production and wildlife habitats; and encourage the public to support eco-friendly agricultural products.
II.   Use non-toxic chemicals: Improve the awareness and attention of relevant environmental management departments towards the issue of agrochemicals; reduce the use of rodenticides and communicate the appropriate use of chemicals to farmers through administrative coordination and ecological network platforms.
III. Bring stray dogs and cats home: Enhance the removal of stray dogs and cats in hot spots of endangered species, and raise public awareness of the reasonable interaction between humans and wildlife.
IV. Use diversified methods: Continue to monitor wild animal populations; promote friendly methods of agricultural hazard prevention and self-management of indigenous peoples' hunting activities; and strike a balance between human daily life, traditional culture, and reasonable use of animal resources.
V.    Become a good neighbor to wildlife: Encourage local communities to patrol the habitats of endangered species and protect the original habitats of wildlife. For wildlife populations undergoing ex-situ restoration, strengthen the cooperative monitoring with surrounding local communities to reduce the threat of poaching.
VI. Connect every sector of the society: Construct communication platforms across government agencies of all levels, industry, academia, and civilian organizations to share information of endangered species and conduct exchanges on conservation practices.

The Forestry Bureau said that these strategies, which involve rolling reviews of action plans for individual endangered species, will begin implementation progressively starting from 2023. Related outcomes will also be published on the Forestry Bureau's Nature Conservation website.
 
Back to list
Visit counts:87 Last updated on:2022-12-06

:::
公告訊息
:::

2022瀕危物種保育行動研討會 與瀕危動物當好厝邊 公私部門合力產出6項保育策略

:::
202208/17
       由行政院農業委員會林務局主辦的「2022瀕危物種保育行動研討會」於8月15、16日進行,相關政府部門、國內各保育團體、學界、及關懷野生動物的民眾約200人現場參與,線上同時觀看最多近300人,觸及人次平均達7,137人。林務局表示,今年的研討會除邀請相關專家發表水獺等11篇瀕危物種保育最新研究成果發表,並安排5場策略論壇,由專家學者藉由行動面臨議題,集思廣益,產出6項保育策略,提供未來執行瀕危動物行動工作時之重要參考。林務局亦將進一步與跨機關合作、鼓勵大眾支持保育行動,更加認識我們身邊的瀕危動物,並進一步共同努力,使這些物種數量止跌回升。
       林務局局長林華慶於開場致詞時,指出許多瀕危物種如石虎、草鴞、山麻雀都是生活在與人類聚落高度重疊的里山棲地;因此除了必要的調查研究,林務局更在三年前推出「生態系服務給付」方案,實質鼓勵農漁民照顧在其私有地上棲息的瀕危物種。例如一位參與生態系服務給付的高雄農民,因水雉在他的野蓮田裡築巢,主動放棄1/3的收成,這樣的損失不應只由農民個人承擔,而應該是全民共同買單,讓保育這份公益價值能更加內化在民眾心裡,完成人與動物共存共榮的終極目標。
       林華慶局長並表示,瀕危物種保育絕非僅靠單一部門奮鬥,需仰賴政府跨部門的合作,各領域專家學者、民間團體的參與及大眾的支持,才能有具體成效,因此也感謝包含交通、水利、國家公園等各單位的攜手努力,農委會的經費挹注支持,以及所有夥伴的共同參與。
       林務局與特有生物研究保育中心現已完成臺灣狐蝠、熊鷹、山麻雀、草鴞、金絲蛇、豎琴蛙及5種山椒魚等11種瀕危物種保育行動計畫書,後續將會提供給各機關團體,作為執行、規劃瀕危野生動物保育行動之指引,據以推動保育工作。未來也會在林務局自然保育網內規劃專區,將22種瀕危物種的保育行動計畫及相關資訊公開。
       特有生物研究保育中心主任楊嘉棟則特別感謝公民科學家共同參與保育,為保育工作挹注了更多公民社會的能量支持。

       本次研討會5場論壇議題為「人與野生動物理性關係的建構」、「臺灣受脅鳥類的重要威脅與保育優先鳥種」、「棲地劣化或消失之兩棲類保育行動建議」、「爬行動物野外族群重建與保育行動策略」、「淡水魚跨域合作保育行動」,經與會專家學者與在場與會者熱烈討論,共產出6項具體策略,包含下列:
一、用消費力增加棲地:創造農業與野生動物棲地需求共好的生產模式,提供農友兼顧農業生產及野生動物棲地需求的農法或簡易的棲地營造方式,鼓勵大眾支持生態友善的農產品。
二、要良藥不要毒藥:提升環境管理相關部門對此議題的認識與重視,以行政協調及綠網平台,減少使用滅鼠藥,並向農民宣導合理用藥。
三、汪汪喵喵帶回家:加強瀕危動物熱點區域遊蕩犬貓的移除,並積極宣導人與野生動物理性互動。
四、越用越多的妙招:持續進行野生動物族群監測,推動農害防治的友善方式及原民狩獵自主管理,兼顧生活、傳統文化及動物資源合理利用。
五、和野生動物當好厝邊:鼓勵社區合作巡守瀕危物種的棲地,保全野外族群的原有棲地。針對移地復育之族群,加強與周邊社區合作監測,減少盜獵的威脅。
六、一個都不能少:擴大建構各種尺度之跨部會機關、產學民合作溝通平台,共享瀕危物種生態資訊及實務交流保育行動

       
       林務局表示,以上產出的策略,除涉及個別瀕危物種的部分將納入行動計畫滾動檢討外,亦將於112年開始逐步推動,相關推動成果將於自然保育網公開資訊。
相關照片

下列為本網站使用鍵盤操作相簿功能說明:

  • 向上鍵:照片選單顯示
  • 向下鍵:照片選單隱藏
  • 向左鍵:上一張照片
  • 向右鍵:下一張照片
  • ESC鍵:離開相簿
回列表
瀏覽人次:76 最後更新日期:2022-08-17