:::
News
:::

“Matsu Islands Rhagophthalmidae Firefly Wildlife Refuge” Announced for the Conservation of Two Firefly Species Endemic to Matsu

:::
202205/03
The R. beigansis and R. giallolateralus fireflies of the Matsu Islands are two species of fireflies that were newly discovered in 2012. They can only be found in the Matsu Islands, with fewer than 200 individuals remaining. On May 3, for the conservation and preservation of the Rhagophthalmidae firefly habitats in the Matsu Islands, the Council of Agriculture (COA) and the Lienchiang County Government announced the “Matsu Islands Rhagophthalmidae Firefly Wildlife Habitat” and “Matsu Islands Rhagophthalmidae Firefly Wildlife Refuge,” covering nearly 13 hectares, including Beigan Township, Dongju Island, and Xiju Island. These are the first protected areas for wildlife designated for insects within an insular ecosystem.
The characteristics of both the continental and island climates can be found in the Matsu Islands, creating a unique ecosystem. In 2007, Principal Wang Chien-Hua of Dong Jyu Elementary School first discovered Rhagophthalmidae fireflies in the area. With the late Dr. Ho Jen-Zon of the Endemic Species Research Institute (ESRI) of the COA assisting in the investigation, he identified and confirmed in 2012 that the Rhagophthalmidae fireflies of the Matsu Islands were new species, and immediately published this discovery. These fireflies in the Rhagophthalmidae family were named R. beigansis and R. giallolateralus to commemorate their special biogeographic characteristics.
According to the investigation commissioned by the Lienchiang County Government, R. beigansis can only be found in Beigan Island, Daqiu Island, and Gaodeng Island, while R. giallolateralus can only be seen in Dongju Island and Xiju Island, and both species are endemic to the Matsu region. The fireflies prefer to inhabit open grasslands that are low and sparse. In recent years, due to road and infrastructure development and light pollution, the distribution locations and populations of Rhagophthalmidae have been on the decline. Furthermore, genetic sequence analysis revealed that the genetic diversity of both Rhagophthalmidae species is extremely low, which is not conducive to future adaptive evolution. The establishment of protected areas can prevent habitat fragmentation and man-made infrastructures from harming the population, and protect the few remaining habitats of fireflies.
Unlike most fireflies, with male fireflies producing the light, for Rhagophthalmidae fireflies, it is the adult females that emit light for courtship. In addition, adult female fireflies remain in the larvae form throughout their entire lifespan and do not have wings, so they do not fly around at night like other fireflies. Female fireflies only stay on the ground with their tail emitters held high to attract male adults. After mating, females find a concealed place to lay and protect their eggs. When protecting their eggs, the thoracic and abdominal segments of female fireflies' bodies emit a dotted light, which is also different from common fireflies.
According to the Lienchiang County Government, thanks to their unique habitats and behaviors, Rhagophthalmidae fireflies have great potential for being developed into nighttime ecotourism in the Matsu Islands. If the populations can increase after conservation, there will be an opportunity for the fireflies to become an important natural resource of the area, just like the Blue Tears (Noctiluca scintillans). In the future, the county government will also fulfill its management responsibilities and actively promote ecological conservation among the public, building community consensus to boost community tourism and develop sustainable ecotourism in Matsu, while taking into account the conservation of biological resources.
The Forestry Bureau said that the core area of the “Matsu Islands Rhagophthalmidae Firefly Wildlife Refuge,” which was declared in accordance with the Wildlife Conservation Act, includes Beigan Township (Juguang Fort), Dongju of Juguang Township (from the District Public Health Center to the gas station), and Xiju of Juguang Township (Yurong Road), with a total area of 8.30563 hectares, and a total buffer area of 4.684897 hectares in the surrounding habitats of the core area. The management unit is the Lienchiang County Government, and the administrative authorities include the National Property Administration of the Ministry of Finance and the Armaments Bureau of the Ministry of National Defense. The core zone of the protected area is strictly controlled and cannot be entered without permission, nor can the habitat, topography, or landscape be altered or used for other development projects, except for agricultural activities, eco-tours, and agricultural facilities that existed prior to the establishment of the protected area, which are not subject to this restriction as long as there is no expansion and the operations follow eco-friendly guidelines. The core area will also be under controlled lighting management to reduce light pollution and interference with the Rhagophthalmidae fireflies’ courtship behavior.
Back to list
Visit counts:28 Last updated on:2022-09-25

:::
公告訊息
:::

「馬祖列島雌光螢野生動物保護區」正式公告 保護馬祖2種特有雌光螢

:::
202205/03
        馬祖北竿雌光螢與東莒黃緣雌光螢為2012年新發表的2種螢火蟲,僅分布於馬祖列島,現存不到200隻。為保全及維護馬祖列島雌光螢之生息,農委會及連江縣政府於本(5)月3日同步公告「馬祖列島雌光螢野生動物重要棲息環境」、「馬祖列島雌光螢野生動物保護區」,範圍包括北竿、東莒、西莒等部分區域,面積近13公頃,為首度針對島嶼生態系昆蟲所劃定的野生動物保護區。
        馬祖列島結合了大陸與海島的氣候特性,形成特殊的生態環境,2007年首度由東莒國小王建華校長發現當地有雌光螢分布,經農委會特有生物研究保育中心已故何健鎔博士協助調查,於2012年鑑定確認馬祖列島的雌光螢為新種,隨即發表了2種雌光螢科(Rhagophthalmidae)螢火蟲,為紀念其特殊地域性,遂以馬祖列島地名為依據,分別命名為北竿雌光螢(R. beigansis)與東莒黃緣雌光螢(R.giallolateralus)。   
        根據連江縣政府委託調查發現,北竿雌光螢僅分布在北竿島、大坵島與高登島,東莒黃緣雌光螢僅分布在東莒島和西莒島,兩種雌光螢均為馬祖地區特有種,皆偏好棲息於空曠、低矮稀疏的草地,近年因道路、設施開發與光害等因素,造成雌光螢分布地點與族群逐年衰退,且由基因序列分析發現,兩種雌光螢遺傳多樣性皆極低,不利於未來適應演化,保護區之設立可以避免棲地破碎化及人工設施危害族群數量,保護雌光螢所剩不多的棲地環境。
        有別於多數螢火蟲主要由雄性螢火蟲發光,雌光螢則是蟲如其名,以雌成蟲發光求偶,而且雌光螢的雌成蟲外觀終生保持幼蟲狀態,沒有翅膀,所以不像一般螢火蟲會在夜間到處飛,雌光螢只會待在地面上高舉尾部發光器,吸引雄成蟲靠近,在交配以後,雌蟲會鑽到隱蔽處產卵,並有護卵行為,護卵的時候身體胸腹節會發出點狀光,這也與一般螢火蟲有所差異。
        連江縣政府表示,生態習性特殊的雌光螢,極具發展成馬祖列島夜間生態旅遊的潛力,若在獲得保護後族群量能增加,將有機會與藍眼淚(夜光蟲)一樣成為當地重要的自然資源,未來縣府也會善盡管理職責,並積極提升民眾的生態保育觀念,凝聚社區共識,在兼顧生物資源保育下促進社區觀光,發展馬祖永續生態旅遊。
        林務局表示,依據野生動物保育法公告的「馬祖列島雌光螢野生動物保護區」,核心區包含北竿鄉(莒光堡)、莒光鄉東莒(衛生所至加油站)、莒光鄉西莒(有容路),總面積8.30563公頃,核心區周邊棲地的緩衝區總面積為4.684897公頃,管理單位為連江縣政府,權屬機關包括財政部國有財產署、國防部軍備局。保護區核心區為嚴格管制區域,非經許可不得進入,且不得改變棲地、地形、地貌或從事其他開發行為,但保護區劃設前既有農業行為、生態導覽活動與農業設施,在不擴大規模及生態友善經營下不受此限,此外,核心區也將透過燈火管制減少光害,降低對雌光螢求偶的干擾。
 
相關照片

下列為本網站使用鍵盤操作相簿功能說明:

  • 向上鍵:照片選單顯示
  • 向下鍵:照片選單隱藏
  • 向左鍵:上一張照片
  • 向右鍵:下一張照片
  • ESC鍵:離開相簿
回列表
瀏覽人次:76 最後更新日期:2022-05-03